Tags

, , , ,


I have spent a few days at home. It was very nice. I met the family and friends. Went to markets, had my Mahous, went to a protest, running under the rain…

And I came back home with the bag full of good food: Iberico meats, Torta del Casar (one of my favourites), good coffee, the best legumes, Cecina, salty cod…Our kitchen is now full of flavours.

Today after a good run, 5km under 20 minutes, I decided it was cake time. A different one.

Basil in a sweet cake? I know it sounds weird. But I can promise that it is delicious. The best cake I have tried in a while.

Ingredients

  • 100gr. Plain Flour.
  • 2 Eggs.
  • 100gr. Butter at room temperature.
  • 150gr. White Sugar.
  • 25gr. Fresh Basil.
  • A pinch of Salt.
  • 400ml. Cream.
  • A few Strawberries or Redcurrants.

Preparation

Pre heat the oven at 180 degrees.

Put in a food chopper the sugar and basil. Mix until all sugar become green.

Put in a bowl the eggs and sugar/basil. Whisk for 5 minutes, until the mix get some volume. Add the butter and keep mixing. Add the flour mixed with the salt. Mix all together until smooth.

Put the mix in a loaf baking tin (I always use silicone ones) with butter and flour. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let it cool down.

Put the cream with a couple of drops of vanilla extract and a bit of sugar in a saucepan at medium/low heat. Let it cook until reduces to half.

Wash the strawberries/redcurrants. Roll them in a plate with sugar and reserve.

Serve a slice of cake with a bath of cream and a few strawberries or redcurrants.

Enjoy!

