Tags

, , , ,


It has been a while since I posted my last recipe. And I miss it.

We had visitors at home for the whole summer and I have been running like mad in the last month(200km in 4 weeks). There was very little time for cooking.

I also worked again in Electricpicnic and I met great musicians and people. I had a great time chatting with the guys from Staff Benda Bilili  and Fatoumata Diawara. Both will be touring in the States so if you are there I will highly recommend you to go to their shows.

Autumn is coming to Ireland and stews too. This is a very basic Spanish stew, I had it back home many times. But I like the Chipotle and chocolate touch. They improve both flavour and texture. And make you feel warm…even more with a glass of wine.

The music: Bissa by Fatoumata Diawara.

Ingredients

  • 600gr. Diced Beef.
  • 3 Potatoes.
  • 3 Carrots.
  • 1 Onion.
  • 250gr. Green Beans.
  • 1 Chipotle Chilli.
  • 2 Ounces Dark chocolate 85%.
  • 1 Glass White Wine.
  • 1 Litre Beef Stock.
  • Plain Flour.
  • Salt.
  • Black Pepper.
  • Olive Oil.

Preparation

Season the beef and batter in plain flour.

Put in a casserole 6 table spoons of olive oil. Fry the beef until golden at medium/high heat. Reserve the beef in a plate.

In the same casserole cook the chopped onion at low heat until soft. Add the beef,  the white wine and the Chipotle Chilli. Let the wine reduce.

Add the beef stock and cook at medium heat until the beef is tender. I use a pressure cooker for 10 minutes to save time.

Once the beef is tender enough. Add the chopped carrots, green beans and the potatoes broken, not cut, in cubes. Cook for around 20 minutes, adding the dark chocolate in the last 5 minutes of cooking.

Let it rest for 15 minutes and serve…with a good red wine.

