Tags

, ,


I have to say that I find lamb in Ireland very strong. Once, having a lamb dish,  I felt I was biting an alive sheep. But I’d imagine is only a matter of habits.

In Spain lambs are slaughtered very young, they are tender and the flavour is very mild. If you are around Spain try the lamb in Aranda de Duero, impressive.

But I found a way. Following, again, a shepherd’s recipe, I am able to enjoy lamb in Ireland. Tender, very tasty and simple.

Ingredients

  • 1 kilo of lamb leg.
  • 1  big green pepper.
  • 6 garlic cloves, with skin.
  • 500 ml. white wine.
  • 200 ml. water.
  • Olive oil.
  • 1 bay leaf.
  • Salt.
  • Stoned dates.

Preparation

Chop the lamb in cubes, bite size. Chop the peppers.

In a cast iron pot, put 8 table spoons of olive oil. Fry the garlics for 2 minutes. Add the lamb and green pepper and stir for a couple of minutes.

Add the white wine and water. Now is a matter of patience. Cook until the sauce reduces almost completely and the meat start to get a golden colour. Correct the salt.

Briefly fry a few dates in a bit of olive oil. Serve with the lamb and enjoy!

*The lamb will stick to the pot. Stir constantly, specially the last few minutes.

